Group Picture, Spring 2022. Back row (from left to right): Carlos Rodriguez (visiting), Bjorn Hasa, Bradie Crandall, Matt Naughton, Feng Jiao, Ken Hansen, Luke Cherniack, Brian Ko; Front row (from left to right): Ahryeon Lee, Haeun Shin, and Rong Xia.

Feng Jiao_new.jpg


Professor and Graduate Program Director

Robert Grasselli Development Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Director of Center for Catalytic Science & Technology (CCST)

Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

University of Delaware

Office location: 332 Colburn Laboratory, 150 Academy Street, Newark, DE 19716

Email address:

Full CV download here



I graduated from University of Patras (Greece) in 2019 with a PhD in chemical engineering. I am currently a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Delaware with research interest in developing advanced characterization techniques for CO2/CO electroreduction. 



I obtained BS in chemical engineering in 2017 from Tianjin University. I joined Dr. Jiao’s group in 2019 as a visiting graduate student from Tianjin University. After receiving my PhD degree, I became a postdoctoral researcher in 2021. My research interest focus on electrocatalysis.



I completed my undergraduate degree with a B.S. in Chemical Engineering at the University of South Carolina. I joined the Jiao group to pursue my Ph.D in Chemical Engineering focusing on electrocatalysis.



I graduated from Chonnam National University with a BS/MS in chemical engineering. I joined Dr. Jiao’s group to pursue my PhD degree in 2019 with research interest in electrocatalysis.



I graduated from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute with a B.S. in Chem. Eng. in 2018. I joined the Jiao group in Fall 2019 and I am pursuing a PhD degree in Chem. Eng. with a focus on electrochemistry. My research interests are in the design and optimization of electrochemical devices and their materials.



I received a B.S. in chemical engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 2020. I joined the Jiao group in 2020 to pursue my PhD in chemical engineering. My research interest is designing electrochemical devices.



I graduated with a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of South Carolina in 2020 and joined the Jiao group to pursue a PhD in Chemical Engineering. I hope to use the expertise I gain to bridge science and public policy with a focus on energy and climate.


Ahryeon Lee

I received a B.S. degree in Chemical Engineering from Yonsei University in 2018 and an M.S. degree in Chemical Engineering from the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) in 2020. I joined the Jiao group in 2022 to pursue my Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering with a research interest in electrocatalysis.


Matt Naughton

I graduated from the University of Massachusetts Amherst in 2021 with a B.S. in chemical engineering and joined the Jiao group in 2022 as a chemical engineering PhD student. My research involves solid-state electrolyzers.

Former Group Members:

Byung Hee (Brian) Ko, Ph.D., 2018-2022.

Dr. Yaran Zhao, Postdoc fellow, 2019-2021.

Emily Jeng, M.Ch.E., 2016-2020.

Matthew Jouny, Ph.D., 2015-2020.

Wesley Luc, Ph.D., 2014-2019.

Dr. Hongjie Tang, Postdoc fellow, 2017-2019.

Jingjing Lyu, Visiting graduate student, 2017-2018.
Dr. Wenlei Zhu, Postdoc fellow, 2017-2018.

Charles Collins, Undergraduate researcher, 2015-2017.
Andrew Craft, M.Ch.E., 2015-2017.
Jonathan Rosen, Ph.D., 2011-2016.
Dr. Qi Lu, Postdoc fellow, 2012-2016.
Yan Zhang, M.Ch.E., 2012-2015.
Gregory Hutchings, Ph.D., 2010-2015.
Bryan Yonemoto, Ph.D., 2010-2015.
Seif Yusuf, M.Ch.E., 2010-2012.